Course Info
CORE Hunter Education
CAD $195.00 / package Register Now
Successful completion of the CORE Hunter Education course is required to obtain your Fish & Wildlife ID (FWID). This is a passport to hunting services in British Columbia. You need a FWID to buy a hunting licence or to apply for Limited Entry Hunting.
Prerequisites:

none

Equipment:
  • Writing material
  • Your PAL if you have one
  • Overview:

    Silvercore's training is approved and recognized through HRDC

    Anyone over the age of 16 who takes a course with Silvercore which either enables them to work or improves their skills in a recognized occupation may be eligible to claim their course fees under the education and textbook tax credits. Contact us for your T2022A tax form and check out Canada Revenue for further information

    Course Overview

    The Conservation and Outdoor Recreation Education (CORE) Program is British Columbia's Hunter Education Program. It is also a great program for anyone interested in outdoor recreation.

    The CORE Program consists of a practical firearms handling test, and a written examination on all of the following subjects:

    • Outdoor ethics and game care
    • Firearm handling and archery equipment
    • Hunting regulations
    • Animals of British Columbia
    • Birds of British Columbia
    • Outdoor survival, first aid & field craft
    • Hunter heritage, conservation and wildlife management

    The CORE Manual and the Hunting and Trapping Regulation Synopsis are the resource manuals used to learn these subjects.

    The Examination Process

    Prior to starting the examinations, the CORE Examiner will have you complete a registration form. Until both exams have been successfully completed, the registration form may be kept by the student to be shown to an examiner each time an examination is taken, otherwise the record of the successful completion of a test may be lost.

    Two Tests Required

    The written examination consists of 75 multiple-choice questions based on the CORE Manual and the Hunting and Trapping Regulations Synopsis.

    You must obtain at least 56 points overall (75%) in order to pass the written examination. Supplemental information from the CORE Manual is not tested.

    The practical firearms handling examination requires the safe handling of two of the five types of firearm actions, including the identification and loading/unloading use of dummy ammunition. A minimum score of 21 out of 27 is required for a pass. The examiner will provide the firearms.

    Individuals who have satisfactorily completed the Canadian Firearm Safety Course (CFSC) need not complete the CORE practical firearm-handling examination.

    If you are interested in taking the two courses to both own firearms and to get a BC resident hunter number, Silvercore recomends taking the firearms licensing course (CFSC/CRFSC) course first then the Core Hunter Education Course.

    A Possession Only Licence (POL) is NOT acceptable for the exemption to the CORE practical firearms handling exam.

    CORE Programs Coordinator: With the implementation of Bill C-42, the Common Sense Firearms Licensing Act, the CFSC will now be converting valid POL licenses to PAL licenses, which took effect September 2, 2015. As such, for the purpose of the Practical Exam exemption, the Ministry has advised that CORE Examiners will no longer be able to accept the PAL as proof of completing the CFSC since the CFSC will be grandfathering in all those who hold a POL (whom did not have to take the CFSC to get a POL).

    Currently what will be accepted for CORE practical exam exemption is a copy of the students’ CFSC completed and passed course report. If the student does not have a copy of their CFSC report, they will have to get confirmation from the CFSC if they wish to be exempt from taking the CORE practical firearms test.

    If you have successfully completed your CFSC with Silvercore, advise us ahead of time and we will take care of the necessary proof of course completion so that you may be exempt from the practical testing.

    • Silvercore core course bc
    • Core hunter education
    • Silvercore duck hunting
    Very informative course, professional classroom, a hunting course well instructed by a hunter ...more – Paul


    Register for Upcoming Courses:
    * Before registering for a course or exam, please check out our Refund Policy
    open open for registration
    rush almost full
    full already full
    ID Time Location State
    2466
    2017-06-01 (Thu)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-06-02 (Fri)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3016
    2017-06-01 (Thu)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-06-02 (Fri)09:30 - 16:00
    rush
    2736
    2017-06-03 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-06-04 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2937
    2017-06-17 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-06-18 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2673
    2017-06-24 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-06-25 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2537
    2017-06-24 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-06-25 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    full
    3017
    2017-07-06 (Thu)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-07-07 (Fri)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2737
    2017-07-06 (Thu)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-07-07 (Fri)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2738
    2017-07-08 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-07-09 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2917
    2017-07-08 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-07-09 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2672
    2017-07-22 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-07-23 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3121
    2017-07-22 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-07-23 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2538
    2017-07-22 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-07-23 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2467
    2017-07-29 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-07-30 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3018
    2017-08-03 (Thu)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-08-04 (Fri)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2468
    2017-08-03 (Thu)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-08-04 (Fri)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2739
    2017-08-05 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-08-06 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2723
    2017-08-12 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-08-13 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2918
    2017-08-12 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-08-13 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3123
    2017-08-26 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-08-27 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2539
    2017-08-26 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-08-27 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2740
    2017-09-02 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-09-03 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2741
    2017-09-07 (Thu)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-09-08 (Fri)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3019
    2017-09-07 (Thu)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-09-08 (Fri)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2724
    2017-09-09 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-09-10 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2919
    2017-09-09 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-09-10 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3124
    2017-09-23 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-09-24 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2540
    2017-09-23 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-09-24 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2469
    2017-09-30 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-10-01 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2742
    2017-10-05 (Thu)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-10-06 (Fri)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3020
    2017-10-05 (Thu)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-10-06 (Fri)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2743
    2017-10-07 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-10-08 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2920
    2017-10-14 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-10-15 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2725
    2017-10-14 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-10-15 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2940
    2017-10-21 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-10-22 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3125
    2017-10-28 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-10-29 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2541
    2017-10-28 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-10-29 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2744
    2017-11-02 (Thu)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-11-03 (Fri)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3021
    2017-11-02 (Thu)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-11-03 (Fri)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2745
    2017-11-04 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-11-05 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2726
    2017-11-18 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-11-19 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2542
    2017-11-25 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-11-26 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3126
    2017-11-25 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-11-26 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2746
    2017-12-02 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-12-03 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3022
    2017-12-07 (Thu)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-12-08 (Fri)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2747
    2017-12-07 (Thu)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-12-08 (Fri)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2921
    2017-12-09 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-12-10 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2727
    2017-12-09 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-12-10 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3127
    2017-12-23 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-12-24 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    2922
    2017-12-30 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2017-12-31 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3325
    2018-01-04 (Thu)09:30 - 16:00
    2018-01-05 (Fri)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3522
    2018-01-04 (Thu)09:30 - 16:00
    2018-01-05 (Fri)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3326
    2018-01-06 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2018-01-07 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3420
    2018-01-13 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2018-01-14 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3167
    2018-01-13 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2018-01-14 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3169
    2018-01-27 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2018-01-28 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3171
    2018-01-27 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2018-01-28 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3300
    2018-02-01 (Thu)09:30 - 16:00
    2018-02-02 (Fri)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3346
    2018-02-01 (Thu)09:30 - 16:00
    2018-02-02 (Fri)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3347
    2018-02-03 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2018-02-04 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3323
    2018-02-10 (Sat)09:30 - 17:00
    2018-02-11 (Sun)09:30 - 17:00
    open
    3299
    2018-02-10 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2018-02-11 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3350
    2018-02-24 (Sat)09:30 - 17:00
    2018-02-25 (Sun)09:30 - 17:00
    open
    3282
    2018-02-24 (Sat)09:30 - 17:00
    2018-02-25 (Sun)09:30 - 17:00
    open
    3301
    2018-03-01 (Thu)09:30 - 16:00
    2018-03-02 (Fri)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3348
    2018-03-01 (Thu)09:30 - 16:00
    2018-03-02 (Fri)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3349
    2018-03-03 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2018-03-04 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3298
    2018-03-10 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2018-03-11 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3324
    2018-03-10 (Sat)09:30 - 17:00
    2018-03-11 (Sun)09:30 - 17:00
    open
    3351
    2018-03-24 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2018-03-25 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3283
    2018-03-24 (Sat)09:30 - 17:00
    2018-03-25 (Sun)09:30 - 17:00
    open
    3360
    2018-03-31 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2018-04-01 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3474
    2018-04-05 (Thu)09:30 - 16:00
    2018-04-06 (Fri)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3471
    2018-04-05 (Thu)09:30 - 16:00
    2018-04-06 (Fri)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3472
    2018-04-07 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2018-04-08 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3476
    2018-04-14 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2018-04-15 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open
    3484
    2018-04-14 (Sat)09:30 - 17:00
    2018-04-15 (Sun)09:30 - 17:00
    open
    3458
    2018-04-28 (Sat)09:30 - 17:00
    2018-04-29 (Sun)09:30 - 17:00
    open
    3497
    2018-04-28 (Sat)09:30 - 16:00
    2018-04-29 (Sun)09:30 - 16:00
    open